Canada Honours Faculty of Medicine Researchers

Jun 29, 2018

Order of Canada MedalsOrder of Canada Medals Six members of the Faculty of Medicine have been named to the Order of Canada.

They are among the 105 new appointments announced by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada on June 29.

University Professor Peter Henry St George-Hyslop, of the Department of Medicine, was named Officer of the Order of Canada. The appointment recognizes St George-Hyslop’s research on the role of genetics in neural degeneration. His work has advanced our understanding of neurodegenerative disorders, notably Alzheimer’s disease.

One of the world’s leading neurodegenerative disease investigators, St George-Hyslop is Director of the Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases. He has discovered key genes and proteins that cause cells to degenerate in diseases like early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, and also demonstrated that a variety of genetic and non-genetic factors contribute to Alzheimer’s. His work has been cited by other researchers more than 33,000 times.

Last year, St George-Hyslop was awarded the Ryman Prize, the world’s richest prize established as an honour equivalent to a Nobel Prize for people working in the field of health of older adults.

The five other appointees from across the Faculty were named Members of the Order of Canada (C.M.)

Allan Steven Detsky
Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine
For his advanced economic expertise in the Canadian healthcare system, notably with respect to clinical policy making through cost-effective enhancements to improve patient outcomes.

Mitchell Halperin
Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology
For his renowned leadership within the field of nephrology as a clinician, researcher and educator.

K. Wayne Johnston
Department of Surgery, Division of Vascular Surgery
For his foundational leadership within the field of vascular surgery in Canada as a surgeon, researcher and educator.

Bryce Taylor
Department of Surgery, Division of General Surgery
For his sustained impact on the teaching and practice of surgery in Canada, notably as an advocate for improving surgical safety standards and patient care.

James Patterson Waddell
Department of Surgery, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery
For his sustained leadership within the field of orthopaedic surgery and for his dedication in advancing best practices in orthopaedic care across Canada.

The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the country. A ceremony will be held at a later date for recipients to accept their insignia.

To read more about more of this year’s Order of Canada inductees at the University of Toronto, click here. To view a full list of the appointments, click here.


15 – 17
Too Much Medicine Symposium 2018
Symposium | All day
Sep 14 Cardio-Rheumatology Scientific Day
Symposium | 9:30am–2:00pm
Sep 28 MyGOALS – Multi-disciplinary Gynecologic Oncology Annual Lecture Series
Lecture | 7:30am–4:45pm
Sep 28 Multi-disciplinary Gynecologic Oncology Annual Lecture Series (MyGOALS)
Lecture | 7:30am–4:45pm
Oct 16 – Jun 18
CPD Foundations
Workshop/Seminar | 12:00pm–1:30pm
22 – 25
Wilson Centre Atelier - Qualitative Research: An Introduction
Workshop/Seminar | 8:00am–5:00pm
Oct 26 Toronto Neurology Update
Conference | 7:00am–3:30pm


UofT Medicine
RT : "If this had been a physical illness I would have gotten treatment quicker because I wouldn’t have feared people fi…
UofT Medicine
RT : Tips to protect you and your loved ones from bug bites this summer:
UofT Medicine
The Montreal Cognitive Assessment test that was used on Trump may have been compromised by its publicity, exp…

UofTMed Magazine

The Humour issue. Is laughter really the best medicine?

Sign up for your free digital copy.
Back to Top