Honours and Awards

Awards archives: 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 

Recent Honours and Awards Announcements

Professor Mahan Kulasegaram

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada has honoured Professor Mahan Kulasegaram with the 2019 Young Educators Award, which recognizes achievements within the first seven years as a faculty member, and who has produced change within their Faculty or the general medical community. Dr. Kulasegaram is an assistant professor in the Department of Family & Community Medicine at U of T, and a member of The Wilson Centre and the Institute of Medical Science.


Professor Sharon Straus

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada has honoured Professor Sharon Straus with the 2019 May Cohen Equity, Diversity and Gender Award, which recognizes achievements in improving the equity diversity and gender environment in academic medicine in Canada. Dr. Straus is a professor in the Department of Medicine at U of T and a clinician scientist at St. Michael's Hospital.


Professor David Jenkins

The Health Research Foundation of Canada has honoured Professr David Jenkins with its Medal of Honour, for his research contributions. Prof. Jenkins led the team that first defined and explored the idea of the glycemic index of foods, and he has pioneered several nutritional therapies for chronic conditions including diabetes and heart disease. Dr. Jenkins is a professor in the Departments of Nutritional Sciences and Medicine at U of T, and a clinician scientist at St. Michael's Hospital.


Professor Judith Laposa

The Ontario Psychological Association has recognized Professor Judith Laposa with the 2018 Dr. Harvey Brooker Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, for clinical training of psychology students. Dr. Laposa is an assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry of U of T, and a clinician scientist at the Centre for Addition and Mental Health.


MD Program Learner Chart Group

The Faculty of Medicine's MD Program Learner Chart Group received a 2017-18 Excellence Through Innovation Award from the University of Toronto. The group helped implement programmatic MD student assessment through the user-friendly, dashboard Learner Chart, which enables students and faculty to quickly access information about student progress. This information allows timely and formative feedback from faculty to support students. The chart has also substantially reduced data management and collation tasks by bringing information from various student information systems into one integrated platform.

Group members include Sam Chan, Emil Cean, Philip Chung, Ben Smith-Lea, Yujung Liu, Lynette Terrill, Courtney Van Beek, Arnold Alfonso, Howard Chow, Heidar Heidari Nia, Bochra Kurabi, Pauline Pan, Tamica Charles, Melissa Casco, and Frazer Howard.


Professors Zulfiqar Bhutta and Beverley Orser

Professors Beverley Orser and Zulfiqar Bhutta have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine — two of only 159 non-American members of the organization. Dr. Orser, a professor of physiology and chair of the Department of Anesthesia, was chosen for her groundbreaking discoveries around anesthesia and memory impairment. Dr. Bhutta, a professor in the Department of Nutritional Sciences and at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, was elected for his contributions to child health and nutrition.

The Academy’s 2,178 members provide independent advice and analysis to support public health and medicine in the United States. Members are elected on the basis of outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. The two medical researchers join five existing members from U of T, including President Emeritus David Naylor.


Professor Emeritus James Till

James Till, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Medical Biophysics, is the inaugural recipient of the Edogawa-Niche Prize. The international award recognizes a physician or scientist based on their contributions to interdisciplinary research leading to health care solutions in disease prevention, diagnosis or treatment. Till and his collaborator Professor Emeritus Ernest McCulloch, were the first to publish evidence of stem cells, in 1961.


Professors Daniel Drucker and Kamran Khan

Canada’s Manning Foundation has honoured two members of the Faculty of Medicine with its prestigious Innovation Awards, which recognize technological innovations across all sectors of the economy, and which have improved the human experience.

Professor Daniel Drucker will receive the Principal Award, which comes with $100,000, for his discovery and development of glucagon-like peptide 2 (GLP-2) for short bowel syndrome. Dr. Drucker is a professor in the Departments of Medicine, and Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology at U of T, and a senior scientist at Sinai Health Systems's Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute.

Professor Kamran Khan a $10,000 Innovation Award, for his role in start-up company BlueDot, and digital technologies that leverage big data and artificial intelligence to track and predict the global spread of dangerous infectious diseases. Dr. Khan is professor in the Department of Medicine and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at U of T, and a scientist at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute at St. Michael’s Hospital. 


Professor Jeff Wrana

Jeffrey Wrana, a professor in the Department of Molecular Genetics at U of T and a senior investigator at Sinai Health System’s Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, was named recipient of the Royal Society of Canada's McLaughlin Medal. The award recognizes sustained excellence in medical science and is one of just 12 research awards the Society granted this year. Prof. Wrana’s work has led to several breakthroughs in cell-to-cell signalling and the molecular understanding of cancer, and he was the first to discover the molecular pathway for a type of protein that influences how cells respond to their microenvironment, called transforming growth factor beta.


Professor Benjamin Goldstein

The U.S. Brain & Behavior Research Foundation has honoured Professor Benjamin Goldstein with the Colvin Prize, for outstanding achievement in mood disorders research. Prof. Goldstein's work focuses on bipolar disorder in adolescents, including new biomarkers, links between the condition and cardiovasulcar disease, and new treatments. Dr. Goldstein is a professor in the Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology & Toxicology at U of T, as well as a clinician and senior scientist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre.


Professor Shiphra Ginsburg

The Medical Council of Canada has honoured Professor Shiphra Ginsburg with the 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award in the Evaluation of Clinical Competence. This award recognizes sustained excellence in Canadian health care or health-care research. Dr. Ginsburg is a professor in the Department of Medicine and a scientist at the Wilson Centre for Research in Education at U of T.  She studies how clinical supervisors assess learner peformance, and professionalism in medical education.


Dr. Rachel Glicksman

Dr. Rachel Glicksman has been honoured with the 2018 Jean Roy Award from the Canadian Association of Radiation Oncology. This award acknowledge residents who show creativity, capacity to innovate and leadership in the fields of education, administration or clinical application of new technologies.


2018 archived awards

2017 archived awards

2016 archived awards

2015 archived awards

2014 archived awards

Back to Top