Current Academic Administrative Searches and (Re)Appointments

Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Professor John Kingdom will complete his first five-year term as Chair of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology on June 30, 2018. Prof. Kingdom is eligible for reappointment.

In accordance with the University’s “Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators,” a committee has been struck to advise Dean Trevor Young on the appointment of the Chair — whether to recommend the reappointment of Prof. Kingdom for a second five-year term or to proceed with a search.

The composition of the committee, which has been approved by the Vice-President and Provost, is as follows:

Trevor Young (Chair) – Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions
Glen Bandiera – Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine
Adalsteinn Brown – Interim Dean, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Nelson Cabral – Business Manager, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Nicolette Caccia – Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; The Hospital for Sick Children and Humber River Hospital
Patricia Lee – Assistant Professor and Interim Head, Division of Urogynaecology, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Filomena Meffe – Associate Professor and Director, Professional Development, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; Chief, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, St. Michael’s Hospital
Javier Mejia Gomez – Subspecialty Fellow, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Elizabeth Miazga – Resident and PGY3 Representative, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Joan Murphy – Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; Chief, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Trillium Health Partners
Gary Newton – President and Chief Executive Officer, Sinai Health System
Mathew Sermer – Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; Chief, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Sinai Health System, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Women’s College Hospital
Heather Shapiro – Associate Professor and Vice Chair, Education; Sinai Health System

The committee welcomes input. Please send any comments to Dean Trevor Young, c/o Anastasia Meletopoulos, Academic Affairs Specialist, at Your opinions will be treated in strict confidence and will be made known only to the Advisory Committee for the (Re)Appointment of Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology.


Back to Top