Banting and Best Distinguished Scholar Program

The Banting and Best Distinguished Scholar Program was established in 2020 to provide transitional support for campus-based researchers who have completed terms as Tier 1 Canada Research Chairs (Canada Research Chairs), a prestigious federal funding program designed to attract and retain researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields, and a national leader in equity, diversity and inclusion practices.

The award provides funding of $75,000 per annum over 3 years and cannot be renewed. Final approval by the Vice-Dean Research and Innovation requires a letter of recommendation from the Departmental Chair (or Dean for CRC T1-holders who are Departmental Chairs), and a brief budget proposal describing how the funds will be used. Expense eligibility follows the Tri-Council policy on financial management.

The Banting & Best Distinguished Scholar Program has been made possible by the transformational gift from Jim and Louise Temerty and the Temerty Foundation. Their investment supports discovery, collaboration and innovation across the University of Toronto’s Temerty Faculty of Medicine.

Banting and Best Distinguished Scholars


Charlie Boone ( Donnelly CCBR & Department of Molecular Genetics